FAIRHAVEN SCHOOL COMMITTEE MINUTES

January 26, 2016

MEMBERS PRESENT: Mrs. Kuechler, Mr. Roderick, Mrs. McKenna

Mr. Monroe, Mr. Veitch, Mrs. Powers

MEMBERS ABSENT:

STAFF PRESENT: Dr. Baldwin, Mr. Kitchen, Mrs. Tavares

STAFF ABSENT:

OTHERS PRESENT: Nicole Potter, Director of Technology, Drew Furtado, Staff,

Bethany Fernandes, Student, Tyler Rego, Student, Kim

Leblanc, FEA President

The meeting was called to order by the Chair at 6:30 p.m.

The Chair informed the audience that the meeting was being videotaped.

Roll Call: Veitch, Powers, Monroe, Roderick, Kuechler, McKenna (late-prior notice)

Motion made by Mr. Roderick and seconded by Mr. Monroe to approve the January 13, 2016 regular session School Committee minutes. Voted 5-0 unanimously

There was no public comment.

There was no report from the student advisory committee.

Mr. Furtado, Bethany Fernandes and Tyler Rego, gave the School Committee a presentation about the Media Production Program.

Dr. Baldwin gave the School Committee information regarding the conditions of education in the commonwealth.

Dr. Baldwin presented to the School Committee the 2015 Annual Report. Motion made by Mr. Monroe and seconded by Mr. Roderick to receive and placed on file. Voted 6-0 unanimously

Dr. Baldwin gave the School Committee a detailed presentation of the proposed FY'17 budget figure. The FY'17 budget represented a 3.5% increase. The level service draft preliminary budget request is \$19,385,788.

The next scheduled School Committee meeting is February 10, 2016.

Motion made by Mr. Monroe and seconded by Mr. Roderick to adopt on second reading revised policy JICFB-Bullying Prevention. Voted 6-0 unanimously

FAIRHAVEN SCHOOL COMMITTEE MINUTES JANUARY 26, 2016 PAGE 2

Motion made by Mr. Monroe and seconded by Mrs. McKenna to adopt on second reading revised policy JKAA-Physical Restraint. Voted 6-0 unanimously

Motion made by Mr. Monroe and seconded by Mrs. Powers to adjourn the regular School Committee meeting and go into executive session for contract negotiations and not return into regular session. Roll call: Veitch-yes, McKenna-yes, Powers-yes, Roderick-yes, Monroe-yes, Kuechler-yes Voted 6-0 unanimously

Adjourned 8:25 p.m.

Robert Baldwin, Ed.D Secretary to the School Committee Fairhaven Public Schools