FAIRHAVEN SCHOOL COMMITTEE MINUTES September 28, 2016

MEMBERS PRESENT: Mrs. McKenna, Mr. Monroe,

Mr. McNamara, Mrs. Powers (late prior notice)

MEMBERS ABSENT: Mrs. Kuechler (prior notice)

STAFF PRESENT: Dr. Baldwin, Mrs. Tavares

STAFF ABSENT:

OTHERS PRESENT: Kim Leblanc, FEA President, Mrs. Amy Hartley-Matteson,

Wood School Principal, Mat Coes, Chairman of the Fairhaven

Bikeway Committee

The meeting was called to order by the Chair at 6:35 p.m.

The Chair informed the audience that the meeting was being videotaped.

Roll Call: McNamara, Veitch, McKenna, Monroe, Powers (late prior notice)

Motion made by Mr. McNamara and seconded by Mrs. McKenna to table the approval of the minutes until Mrs. Powers could get there. Voted 4-0 unanimously

There was no report from the student advisory committee.

Mrs. Amy Hartley-Matteson introduced Mr. Mat Coes, Chairman of the Safe Routes to School Bike Bus Committee. Mr. Coes presented to the School Committee the "Biking All-Star Award".

Motion made by Mr. McNamara and seconded by Mr. Veitch to take off the table the vote to approve the minutes. Voted 4-0 unanimously

Motion made by Mrs. McKenna and seconded by Mr. McNamara to approve the September 14, 2016 School Committee minutes. Voted 4-0-1 Mr. Veitch abstained

The School Committee received and placed on file the Administration Regulation GCA-R Paraprofessional job descriptions.

Dr. Baldwin announced that the School Committee does not intend to declare the Newmasket Group building surplus.

Dr. Baldwin presented to the School Committee the draft 2016-2017 District Improvement Plan. Dr. Baldwin gave the School Committee an overview of three specific areas: District & School Accountability, Analysis of District Data, Teaching and Learning.

The next School Committee is scheduled for October 12, 2016.

FAIRHAVEN SCHOOL COMMITTEE MINUTES SEPTEMBER 28, 2016 PAGE 2

Mr. Monroe discussed the details of the Ballot Question Number 2. Motion made by Mr. Veitch and seconded by Mr. Monroe to oppose lifting the cap on Commonwealth charter schools and to oppose Ballot Question Number 2. Voted 5-0 unanimously

Motion made by Mr. Veitch and seconded by Mrs. McKenna to adjourn the regular School Committee meeting, go into executive session for contractual issues and return into regular session. Roll call: Veitch-yes, McKenna-yes, McNamara-yes, Monroe-yes, Powers-yes Voted 5-0 unanimously

Adjourned 7:30p.m.

Motion made by Mrs. McKenna and seconded by Mr. Veitch to re-adjourn the regular School Committee meeting. Voted 5-0 unanimously

Motion made by Mr. Veitch and seconded by Mr. McNamara to ratify the secretarial contract for the years 2016-2019. Voted 5-0 unanimously

Motion made by Mr. McNamara and seconded by Mrs. Powers to adjourn the regular School Committee meeting. Roll call: Veitch-yes, McKenna-yes, McNamara-yes, Powers-yes, Monroe-yes. Voted 5-0 unanimously

Adjourned 7:53p.m.

Robert Baldwin, Ed.D Secretary to the School Committee Fairhaven Public Schools